Pages discussing Jewish law and the actions it demands of us

Halakhah: Jewish Law Intermediate
Learn what Jewish law is and what it is derived from. Distinguishes between laws from the Torah and different classes of laws made by the rabbis.
Aseret ha-Dibrot: The Ten Commandments Intermediate
Learn about the Jewish understanding of the Ten Commandments, known in Judaism as Aseret ha-Dibrot. Provides a Jewish perspective on the controversy surrounding public use of this text.
Love and Brotherhood Basic
Learn about the Jewish perspective on the importance of love, brotherhood, and the proper treatment of your fellow man.
Speech and Lashon Ha-Ra Intermediate
Learn about the sins of wronging people through speech.
Kashrut: Jewish Dietary Laws Intermediate
Learn about the Jewish dietary laws of kashrut (kosher), why we observe these laws, the various foods and combinations that are forbidden, and the certification of kosher foods.
Kosher Sex Intermediate
Learn about Jewish law regarding sexual relations, contraception, abortion, adultery, and the separation of a menstruating woman.
Tzedakah: Charity Intermediate
Tzedakah (charity) is a fundamental part of the Jewish way of life. Learn about the meaning of tzedakah and the obligation to give tzedakah.
Treatment of Animals Intermediate
Learn about Jewish law regarding the proper treatment of animals and against cruelty to animals, which is called in Hebrew tza'ar ba'alei chayim (suffering of living creatures).
Qorbanot: Sacrifices and Offerings Advanced
Learn about the ancient Jewish practices of sacrifices and offerings. Discusses the nature and purpose of these practice, and explains why these rituals are no longer observed.
A List of the 613 Mitzvot (Commandments) Advanced
A list of the 613 mitzvot (commandments) that are binding on Jews.
Go to Site Map

What's Nu? | Current Calendar | About